danaxec.blogg.se

Rob bottin explorers 1985
Rob bottin explorers 1985









rob bottin explorers 1985

Specific thing I remember about the appearance is something I’m likely to neverįorget. I remember very little of the lecture itself other than it was engaging andįull of clips Dante had brought along (perhaps from his personal collection),Īnd that I had mustered up the courage to stand up and ask him a rather generic Legends of horror and science fiction in Hollywood, and of course we had to go.

rob bottin explorers 1985

Lecture at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences on the history and Upon a notice in the newspaper that Joe Dante would be giving some sort of And I know now there are a lot of us who feel that way.Ĭut back to Los Angeles, 1987. Unreasonably protective, that feels as if it was made for me. It’s one of those movies about which I feel almost

#Rob bottin explorers 1985 movie#

The Extra-terrestrial, was taken by most audiences as a disappointment atīest, a pointless betrayal at worst, and the movie never connected with the Something more than random chaos and hopeful transmissions winking out in theĪn out-and-out rebuke to the quasi-religious hosannas paying customers had become Seems to have survived) and the hope that it might somehow all add up to Responsibilities of adulthood (where not much of that beauty and silliness Sending them, you could feel Dante wrestling with a life of movie-fedĮxpectations, the beauty and silliness of childhood, the looming Who start receiving mysterious messages, apparently from outer space, and buildĪ spaceship out of an abandoned Tilt-a-Whirl car in order to find out who’s (1985) that really got its hooks into me. I loved all those movies, but it was Dante’s maligned, Had encouraged me to see, could make the movies live and breathe on another Mania while leaving room for the sort of subtextual contours-political,Įmotional, sociological- that, as the previous four years of my college life (1976), which he co-directed with Allan Arkush, and began to suspect I’dĭiscovered a director whose perspective could reflect my own movie-riddled

rob bottin explorers 1985

Soon after I sought out his first movie, the delightfully It was the perfect setting for myįirst exposure to Dante’s satirically inventive, movie-maniacal sensibility,Īnd I was hooked. Werewolf movies). Shortly thereafter saw the movie on a double bill with The Texas Chainsaw Massacre at a localĭrive-in on the edge of some very deep woods. Howling, their stylish and innovative take on werewolf mythology (and I remember catching Dante and makeup genius Would have carried a card if I’d had one, and if there had actually been a Joeĭante Fan Club, but I didn’t because there wasn’t, but if there had been…) Of course I’d seen Gremlins several times, and though IĮnjoyed its parodic take on Spielberg-filtered horror and fairy tales, it THE 2015 WHITE ELEPHANT BLOGATHON: CHARLES BURNETT.īy the time I'd arrived in Los Angeles from Southern Oregon inġ987, I was already a card-carrying member of the Joe Dante Fan Club.











Rob bottin explorers 1985